What is the FFC?

How does it work?

Who needs Fitch?

The Fitch Warranty

FFC Kits and Prices

Frequently asked Question's

Magazine Reviews

Performance Reports

Emission Tests

Motorcycles &
Powersports Equip.

Small Gas Equip.
Lawn & Garden

Automobiles &
Light Trucks

Heavy Equipment

Marine Equipment

Heating Systems

Video Gallery

Installation Pictures

Team Fitch

News Updates

About APSI
FFC Manufacturer

We Accept:

To purchase on-line
Click here




Recent Magazine Reviews
of The Fitch® Fuel Catalyst
These are reviews that have appeared in magazines and websites by independent and professional writers.


  Great Lakes Scuttlebutt.com, Oct 2010
"The Fitch Fuel Catalyst is an excellent alternative technology for boaters to keep the Great Lakes cleaner and pollution free.....This product works! Anyone who has questions, just have them call me! Within 3 hours of operating the Izuzu gen-set engine, the always present “clanking” of the cylinders stopped. Same with the main Cat3408"

  Habitatmag.com, Dec 2010
"This catalyst is novel in that it induces reactions in fuels at temperatures far below where petroleum catalysts have historically been known to function. When placed in fuel lines, the reactions increase combustion efficiency while reducing emissions and particulates. These improvements to fuel result in lower fuel consumption and also reduced maintenance.

  K&S Snosports Blog, at www.snosports.com, Jan / 2010
" I took the old ZR out for it’s first run of the year this morning. It hasn’t missed a beat from a fuel issue since I dropped the Fitch fuel catalyst in the tank about four years ago. The throttle response was crisp, the idle was smooth and she launches with cat like quickness. I haven’t had to use any fuel stabilizers or additives except for an occasional dose of isopropyl when I’ve used non-oxygenated fuel. Every time I’ve opened the float bowls to re-jet, they have been spotless. The $49 price tag is easy to swallow when I take into account the money I have saved in fuel stabilizers and fuel system cleaners I would have needed to purchase over the past four years. It is impossible to tell if the fitch system has saved any top end overhauls attributed to bad gas since I haven’t had to touch the top end since the piston recall eight years ago. I have had nothing but positive results with Fitch fuel catalyst in my seasonal power equipment and I have no reservations about recommending it to friends and customers."

Dieselpowermag.com (6.7L Cummins), 2009
"...our primary purpose in bolting a Fitch Fuel Catalyst from Advanced Power Systems International to our 6.7L Cummins was to see if the company's claims of increased fuel economy would really pan out. We tested this product for more miles than any of our other modifications in this series and discovered some interesting results. As part of the installation procedure, the batteries are supposed to be disconnected and the positive and negative leads touched together to allow the computer to fully recalibrate for the newly conditioned fuel. It seemed to us that the computer should eventually recalibrate whether the leads are disconnected or not. So we skipped this step on purpose to see what would happen, assuming that after some period of time the recalibration would be completed. We ran the Fitch on our truck without disconnecting the batteries for almost 2,000 miles and saw virtually no difference in economy. The fuel mileage varied plus or minus 1 mpg from our previous tallies. Finally, we followed Fitch's directions and disconnected the batteries and our average mileage instantly jumped almost 1.5 mpg. "

Off Roadweb.com, Oct 2009-Long Term Updates
"Bet you thought this was snake oil, huh? Well, guess what-it works! The Fitch unit refines the fuel inline as the fuel passes through, and we have now found an honest 2.5 to 3 more miles per gallon that our V-8 engine is getting. "

Off Road Adventures, Jan 2009
"We ran it down to where the needle was bouncing on "E," poured in the 5.5 gallons of old gas, disconnected the Fitch and headed off to our test course to recheck our mileage......we gained an average of 1.4 mpg with the stale gas. To be honest, we do not understand how the Fitch does what it does but it appeared to do something in our testing. It also appeared to live up to Fitch's claim of being able to revitalize stale fuel. "

4 Wheel Drive SUV Magazine, Jan 2009
"A tremendous gas hog, the truck averaged 7 miles per gallon prior to the installation of the Fitch Fuel Catalyst. With the device in place these numbers made a noticeable jump with an average of 9.6 mpg. The extra pep that was detected felt like we had added an octane booster at the last fuel fill up...."

Off Road Magazine, Dec 2008
"not only did we feel a noticeable increase in power, but we also saw improved fuel economy. The good people at Fitch even threw a couple drop-in pellets for us to try in a motorcycle, and we'll tell you right now that we saw the same improvements in our motorcycle as we did with the Durango.

Sport Truck Magazine, Oct 2008
""We were also skeptical to the claims that we would improve our fuel economy by as little as 1.5 to 2 mpg, but, to our surprise, we ended up getting a 2.5 mpg improvement"............ "Over one month, we averaged 13.3 mpg. After installing the Fitch Fuel Catalyst, we drove the vehicle for another four-week period and took the average. The result was a 15.8-mpg."

8 Lug Diesel Truck Magazine, Dec 2007 (5.9 Cummins turbodiesel)
""7000 miles of testing shows positive results"...It was obvious the catalyst was working. One of the first things to happen was the noticable lack of black smoke coming out of the exhaust pipe when stepping down the throttle....The 17 mpg was the best mileage ever towing 15,650 pounds. Even with the variable conditions, the 7.071-mile trip used 473 gallons with an over-all average of 14.9 mpg. This is about a 1.5 mpg improvement compared with the last trip.

Diesel Power Magazine, Nov 2007
"Once we got our variables out of the way and had some solid tests results, we found that the thing actually worked....As for us, we got a 1.15 mpg increase with the Fitch.....If you are looking for a way to increase your fuel mileage, you might want to check out the Fitch Fuel Catalyst, it isn't a bad way to fight high fuel prices."

Snow Tech Magazine, Sept 2007
"After months of sitting we get easy starts on everything, everytime. They are used by all of the staff in even the smallest of gas engines with the smallest tanks. They are incredibly effective in keeping all of our equipment ready to run, even after sitting all summer, or all winter."

5.0 Mustang & Super Fords, 2007
"The Fitch Fuel Catalyst could prove itself a good addition to a hopped-up "Stang" when lower-octane fuels are used. Increased fuel mileage without a negative impact on horsepower is one of the greatest best-of-both worlds scenarios there is for true performance."

JP (Jeep) Magazine, July 2007
"We noticed an approximate 2-mpg increase over stock with the Fitch system."

Snow Tech Magazine, March 2007
"...one of the most important steps is to keep the fuel from screwing up the carbs and injection systems. We've been using the drop-in Fitch Fuel Catalyst for several years now to keep the fuel fresh and free of varnish, gum, and the greenie-grunge bacteria that forms when gas goes old."

Aftermarket Business - Editorial
"Product Power -Aftermarket innovations have the muscle to tackle touch industry issues."

City of York Council UK
"The Council reports fuel consumption improvement and emissions reduction through use of Fitch Fuel Catalyst.

Tests run by City of York Council, have shown the Fitch Fuel Catalyst cuts the release of nitrogen oxides by 32 per cent, and of hydrocarbons by 90 per cent when fitted to a Vauxhall Vectra car and driven for 5,500 miles. This demonstrated that the Fitch could have a drastic positive impact in the city air quality and has encouraged transport chiefs who are seeking to cut pollution levels.

The council's sustainable development officer who supervised the tests, said: "As well as reducing the amount of traffic on our roads, we need to clean up the traffic that remains. The Fitch unit we tested performed very well in this respect and we measured a decrease in fuel consumption. We estimate that over the 5,500 mile test, 290kg of carbon dioxide was saved from entering the atmosphere and causing global warming. Drivers must take responsibility for the damage they cause to the environment by reducing their car use and producing less pollution. Exhaust emissions are a blight on the health and well-being of the city and we all have a responsibility to cut them."

The point of the tests was to show how much people can do to cut pollution, said Mr Saxby. "

Speed Vision
"Hot Rod Magazine recently filmed a test of the FFC that ran on Speedvision TV for two weeks. Terry McGean, a technical editor for Hot Rod Magazine installed an FFC on an '86 Mustang GT. With the help of Mark Childers, an instructor at the Universal Technical Institute, the Mustang was base lined on a dynomometer using a state of the art 5 gas analyzer. After installation of an FFC, Hydrocarbon (HC) emissions decreased by 39.26 % to 99 parts per million. This means more energy was being extracted from the fuel after installation thus increasing power and fuel efficiency with less unused fuel (HC) coming out of the tailpipe."

Musclecarblog.com & Truckblog.com
"With fuel economy being first and foremost on the minds of most Americans, it's easy to be caught up in the bolt-on modifications that claim to get better fuel mileage. When we added the Fitch Fuel Catalyst to Muscle Car Blog's Project "Pony Up", an 07 Ford Mustang GT, we found something that actually boosted our project vehicles average highway mileage from 24 to 27 miles per gallon, which is outstanding for a high performance muscle car. " We noticed an audible change in the vehicle's idle within 20 seconds of the initial startup that could only be described as smoothing out."

The Auto Channel - Editorial
"The Fitch Fuel Catalyst Improves Fuel for Improved Fuel Economy "

It has been a few years since we first introduced you to a strange little plastic/nylon cage of what appeared to be metal pellets that you drop in your tank, or gas cans, called the Fitch Fuel Catalyst. We admit we were very skeptical of claims it was a "mini-refinery" able to keep gasoline (and diesel fuel) fresh almost indefinitly. Since that introduction, we have been using these things in most every gasoline-powered engine we own. We continue to experience nothing but fresh fuel and seemingly an elimination of fuel related problems with all of our seasonal equipment when using the Fitch Fuel Catalyst to pre-treat our gasoline.
No more fuel related problems. Year after year. No green crap, no varnish, no gum, and the gas acts like it is still of a "premium grade". Gasoline treated with the Fitch Fuel Catalyst does not appear to go stale - even after 6 months it does not lose octane, it actually seems to get better. Think of it as a fuel stabilizer, mold-bacteria-yeast inhibitor, octane booster, your "fuel sentry".... Say "goodbye" to most fuel related problems once and for all!
-- Snow Tech Magazine
      Sept/Oct 2004

Even with the low gears we had installed, we were able to reach 20.4 miles per gallon, which was better than the 18.5 mpg we measured before installing the Fitch system. Recently, we went up a tire size, which slightly reduced our engine RPM at highway speed, and over a 590 km test we reached a phenomenal 23.39 miles per gallon from our stroked 4.0. To keep tabs on the engine emission, we ran the Vancouver air care system twice: once before Fitch and once afterwards. We made a point of not adjusting anything during that two week period. Keep in mind that our 4.0 doesn't have a catalytic converter. Hydrocarbons dropped from 187 parts per million to 152 ppm while carbon monoxide dropped from .86 ppm to 19 ppm, which is a substancial reduction in tail pipe emissions.
-- Albert Vandervelde, 4 Wheel Drive Magazine, Canada, 6 month follow up after installation of the FFC.

Question:        WHAT GIVES?
            Do you know if the Fitch Fuel Catalyst is on the level or not? I have seen some very exorbitant claims for this product and was wondering if it would be worth a try. They are just little metal pellets in a plastic case and I don't see how they could do anything one way or the other.
                                                            Bill Wakeman, Dallas

Answer:       I tried the catalyst in an Evo that has way more compression than it should. It's rideable on pump gas, but you have to be careful with how much throttle you give it or it rattles like hell.
      With the Fitch tablets, the knock has all but disappeared under normal riding conditions. Fitch also claims that their product prevents gasoline from deteriorating when stored. I left the pellets in a tank of gas that sat for over a year. Before trying to start the bike, I popped the gas cap off to smell the gas. I expected the flat, varnish smell you usually get with old gas, but it smelled like it had just come from the pump!
      I hate to recommend the catalyst because it sounds like snake oil, but I believe that it lives up to at least two of the manufacturer's claims. Placebo effect? Maybe, but I don't think so. The nose knows!!
                                                             Dr. Mudflap

-- Talking Tech, Easyriders Magazine, October 2003

"A number of you have inquired about our on-going experiences with the Fitch Fuel Catalysts,(plastic cages filled with metal-looking pellets that are said to convert commercially available fuel to fuel that is "fresher", a highly refined and superior end product).
To date we have used the Fuel Catalysts in a variety of powered units from lawn mowers to snow blowers to having them in every gas can on site.... At this time we can tell you that every single engine this has been in has started right up after several months of storage, and we have experienced zero fuel related issues.
No foul smelling gas, no gummy carbs, no fuel related problems whatsoever. As bacteria growth and oxygen attack are the major causes of premature aging of fuel, the FFC keeps fuel in an optimal state!"
-- FEEDBACK Snow Tech Magazine, Sept 2003

"By the time he was through the first of five full tanks of gas, Frey said that the bike was running noticeably smoother. Nothing to drastic, but he said that the engine seemed to be firing better than it ever had before!
Then it was time to check out the gas mileage. Frey reported that while he was able to squeeze 120 miles out of 4 gallons before the Fitch system was added, he could now get around 137 miles from the same amount of fuel. Thats a gain of about 4.25 miles per gallon!!......pretty amazing for doing nothing more than opening a blister-packed product and dropping it into the gas tank!".
-- Hot Rod Bike Magazine, November 2003

"...Before the installation the Alford's RV was getting 4.42 kilometers-per-liter, afterwards Jim recorded 5.39 kpl, a 19 percent increase in fuel efficiency. There was also a definite power increase.".
-- RV West Magazine, June 2003
Click here for more on the article from RV West.

.....we can tell you we are so far impressed with what weve seen.........and it really seems to make a difference--they run clean and don't ping at all. We asked around and the word seems to be pretty consistant....fuel problems seem to go away. Gas seems to stay fresher longer. No gum, no greenies,no problems!
-- Snow Tech Magazine, Dec 2002

"While not exactly a chemical, it's the chemical reaction created by Fitch Fuel Catalyst that gives results, so we can justify including it here. Not only does the catalyst keep your bike's fuel fresh during inactive periods, it encourages more thorough combustion of the fuel during operation to provid additional power and improved gas mileage. Clean burning fuel also reduces carbon build-up, smoke and soot that can plug up the carb, spark plugs and injectors."
-- IronWorks, October/November 2002 Issue

"At first, we were hesitant to dropping some "magic pellets" into our truck's fuel tank, but we figured we had nothing to lose. We were also skeptical to the claims that we would improve our fuel economy by as little as 1.5 to 2 mpg, but, to our surprise, we ended up getting a 2.5 mpg improvement (An increase of 18.9%). Considering that our test vehicle has over 85,000 miles on a 7.4L TMI engine, the results were well worth the price tag. "
-- Sport Truck - page 174

"The Fitch Fuel Catalyst improves starting, fuel economy and power while reducing smoke, plug fouling and emissions"
-- Power Equipment Trade-July/August 2001

"I used it on my Grand Touring Bombardier during the past season. I found that it increased the gas mileage and no fouling spark plugs. In fact I did not have to change plugs in 3,700 Km. I would recommend it to any user of gas engines.
-- Harold McCann, Snowmobiler Magazine

"There are many products out there that claim to give you better gas mileage and one can't help but be skeptical. When we first saw the Fitch Fuel Catalyst we were not sure what to do with it, but after dropping them into our Jeep's tank we picked up almost 3 MPG. ("Percentage gain-18.57%")
This permanent fuel treatment offers other benifits like reduced emissions, more power. Also with the Fitch there is no need to add gas stabilizers in Jeeps that are stored for part of the year."
-- JP Magazine September

"My bike is running just that much better with a Fitch Fuel Catalyst, supplied by PM Cycles Ltd. in Nova Scotia, just love that extra mileage !
-- Len Creed, Publisher Canadian Biker Sept. Issue 2001,(Comments after using the Fitch in his bike on his cross country run from coast to coast.)

" Fitch's Fuel Catalyst Delivers.....Over the course of a couple of weeks of riding, the average fuel economy went from 27 mpg (city driving) before the test to 29 mpg immediately, then ultimately to 33 mpg, where it stabilized."
-- HOT ROD BIKES, Billy Bartels, July 2001

" ...using a fuel-injected TC88B (Heritage Softail Springer). Initially our test bike averaged about 38 mpg without the pellets. After running through a couple tanks with the Fitch Fuel Catalyst, the Heritage's fuel economy rose to nearly 42 mpg " "...our friend Sam Martin (owner of Mount Up Cycles in Ether, NC) sent us word recounting his experience using Fitch with his '72 Shovelhead engine. Sam's engine has a 94-inch stroker kit with a Thunder jet on an S & S "B" carb. The Fitch Fuel pellets allowed Sam to drop the S & S carb's jetting from 82 down to 80 main, and he lowered the primary (pilot) jet from 35 to 31."
-- Iron Works - August 2001 - Fitch Follow up

Fitch Fuel Catalyst-Easy Horsepower for your V-Twin (FRONT COVER OF ISSUE)
"Tom Johnson recently dyno tested the Fitch Fuel Catalyst (FFC) on a 1994 Ultra Classic using a DynoJet 150 kindly provided by S & S Cycles, Inc. Below are some of the quotes from his 6 page article which IronWorks featured on its cover.

The test "showed an increase of 1.4 hp/1.2 ft lbs.at peak power (6200 rpm) with a gain of almost 3.5 hp at 5500 rpm." "In an engine that has been optimized through careful tuning, gaining three horsepower, even two horsepower, is big news, cause for celebration"

Further, the graphs showed that the engine was reaching some horsepower and torque figures as much as 500rpm sooner with the catalyst than without it. For me that translates to 'faster quicker'."

"Still not convinced that I was convinced? Back home after the dyno test I immediately lined up FFC's for my knucklehead stroker and '40 Ford hot rod.""
-- Iron Works,Tom Johnson
"...I repeated my power runs and compared the best of the three latest runs to the the best run without the catalyst. Shazam ! The latest showed an increase of 1.4 hp / 1.2 ft-lbs. at peak power (6,200 rpm) with a gain of almost 3-1/2 horsepower at 5500 rpm!!...In an engine that has been optimized through careful tuning, gaining three horsepower, even two horsepower, is big news, cause for celebration" "
-- Iron Works Magazine,July 2001, Dyno Testing the Fitch with test bike and dyno courtesy of S&S Cycle.

Hot Rod Magazine recently filmed a test of the FFC that ran on Speedvision TV for two weeks. Terry McGean, a technical editor for Hot Rod Magazine installed an FFC on an '86 Mustang GT. With the help of Mark Childers, an instructor at the Universal Technical Institute, the Mustang was base lined on a dynometer using a state of the art 5 gas analyzer. After installation of an FFC, Hydrocarbon (HC) emissions decreased by 39.26 % to 99 parts per million. This means more energy was being extracted from the fuel after installation thus increasing power and fuel efficiency with less unused fuel (HC) coming out of the tailpipe.
-- -- Hot Rod TV Magazine April 14-26, 2001

"...I do know that the fuel problem that I was having cleared up after a tank of fuel and my gas mileage has improved since the installation.....Where else can you find that kind of horsepower,torque and fuel economy for that kind of money?"
-- Chuck Murray Report, Canadian Biker Magazine, Market Place, March 2001

"We weren't sure whether to call the Fitch Fuel Catalyst a mileage enhancer, emissions reducer, power improver, or fuel stabilizer. It's really all of the above. Our daily driver, which delivered 25 mpg over flat interstate with just one driver, improved to 27.9 mpg with five occupants and a trunk full of luggage! That is an improvement of 11.6 % in fuel economy. "
-- Tom Shaw - Muscle Car Review 9/01

AFTERMARKET PERFORMANCE NEW TECHNOLOGY "... In our series "Supercar Performance," which highlights performance technology from the automotive aftermarket, Editor Tom Shaw visits the latest new technology offerings that improve the performance and enjoyment of vintage musclecars Among the products included in our "New Technology" focused Supercar Performance section, Tom highlights the Fitch Fuel Catalyst. "
-- Musclecar Review magazine!, September 2001

"... on our 43 ft Fairline with twin Volvo Penta 73Ps'the Fitch Fuel Catalyst (Walker FuelSeP) reduced soot on our transom. This is a solution to transom soot worth considering. It sure cleaned up our act."
-- Jan 2001, R. Thiel editor Power and Motor Yachting

Hot Bike Magazine
Testing the Fitch Fuel Catalyst, 2000
"...an immediate increase in fuel mileage and a smoother idling motor on the Titan motorcycle. ?The Fitch Fuel Catalyst is one of the best values in performance increases available today!"

Road and Rider Magazine, Lee W. Taylor
"I purchased a used Venture Royale several months ago in anticipation of a long anticipated cross country trip. When first riding my Venture, I was getting around 40 miles per gallon driving mostly 55 or a little under. I put in a Fitch Fuel Catalyst and after about 400 miles, rechecked my mileage and was consistently getting 50 miles per gallon at the same speeds.

Before leaving for my "Big Trip," my brother and I rode to Bike week at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and I had him put Fitch in his Yamaha 650 V Star. His normal mileage was 50 or so, but after driving to the Beach and around locally for a week, he got 60 miles per gallon coming home.

We have both put Fitch in our SUVs, and have noticed an improvement, but not as dramatic as the bikes. Here we noticed 5% improvement both in and out of town driving.

I do not care what the Rags are telling you, our cars and bikes think this stuff helps and I am not going to tell them otherwise.

See more reviews like this at the Road & Rider Motorcycle Riders Forum Please direct any questions, comments, feedback or submissions to: info@roadandrider.com "

Backroads Magazine, Jan 2001 page 46
"...the bike the Fitch Fuel Catalyst was installed in ran better, started faster, and got about 20 more miles out of every tank, every time."

"If all this sounds too good to be true, we found the greatest advantage of the Fitch Fuel Catalyst to be its ability to stabilize fuel"
-- Iron Works, July 2000 page 75

"Fitch Fuel Catalyst is a product that really works as claimed"
-- Gold Wing Touring News

"Snake Oil! That's the first thought we had..." but "... you made believers out of us"
-- Rumblin Thunder

"After several months of hands-on testing, the Fitch Fuel Catalyst has made a noticeable improvement in our test engines, and we have no reservations about strongly endorsing it's use in anything that uses gasoline -- this is a product that really works and couldn't be easier to use."
-- American Homeowners, Automotive Section

"...throttle response improved and I was able to pull the hill 4 or 5 mph faster and I picked up nearly 4 miles per gallon on my 302 Ford... "
-- Instant Gratification, Classic Trucks, August 2000


Magazine Reviews

More Reviews for Commercial Truck, Marine & Heavy Duty Equipment. Click here.


Call Toll Free for more Information
or To Order

Distributed in Canada by PMC Ltd.
Copyright © 2011 PMC Ltd.